Even If It Was Not Love: Guy After Marian’s Death

[Tick tock.]

I still haven’t seen Captain America yet.

Armitage speculation: I’m wondering if he dies in CA since it’s mandatory for minor comic book villains. And that submarine situation does not look safe.

It seems like there are so many Armitage deaths.

I previously blogged about this delicious Armitage + Rihanna video and when I went back to look through mccpepper’s other videos, I found this devastating Guy of Gisborne video featuring the song “Pieces” by the band Red.

I love the song’s slow build: first the piano, then strings, then the guitar with the singer as the memories of Marian begin to play.

The song’s repeated line of “Then I see your face/I know I’m finally yours” is so crushing when applied to the Guy + Marian narrative because we know that the silent beloved is not in love with the speaker. And how enduring Guy’s devotion was, until the very end.

As a tonic, here’s a sassy Guy moment that makes me crack up (courtesy of rococostyle tumblr). Take that, Marian.

And there’s always the Rihanna video.

2 thoughts on “Even If It Was Not Love: Guy After Marian’s Death

  1. Hi darlingdarling, just found your great blog!
    Beautiful and sad video…left me with a lump in my throat.

    • Hello Fabi! Thanks for visiting.

      I had the same feeling—the music just builds and builds and it becomes so heartbreaking by the end.

Leave a Reply

