History of Richard Armitage’s Richard III Project In The Press

UPDATED on 8/24/11 with White Rose’s YouTube video for the King Richard Armitage Week

UPDATED and split from original post

C’mon guys – it hurts the heart to read about Richard Armitage‘s struggle to get this project funded. It’s his dream and time is running out for him to play the king. King Richard Armitage! We need to help make this happen.

Dec 3, 2007 – RA Message to Fans

Richard III is still very much in development, I am weighed down with history books in my determination to uncover as much fact as possible before we embark on telling his story, which will ultimately be a fiction!

Aug 1, 2008 – Entertainment Weekly interview

Are there any parallels between Guy and Richard III? 
Sort of. I’m researching Richard III at the moment. I suppose the biggest parallel is this ambition that is all consuming and will ultimately crush the person that’s chasing it. That’s been the overriding theme of Guy right from the beginning. It’s ambition that started out as “I am fighting for my family name.” But once he’s had a taste of success, he wants it for himself, despite the fact that he’ll say it’s for the Gisbornes. He wants it for himself and it’s insatiable. I’m hoping to explore the character of Richard III at some point, but I don’t know when it’s going to happen. I’m interested in the camp that says he wasn’t the ruthless, ambitious, child murderer that Shakespeare depicted. I want to explore what it might be like if you grow up never being in line to the thrown and then suddenly you can see the crown and the path is cleared. You get a taste of the potential of what it might be like. Surely you would dive in and you would run and grab it! I wonder if that’s what he really did. Those are the parallels for me really.

Jul 8, 2009 – Vulpes Libris Interview

VL: Now, you were born on August the 22nd and your given name is Richard. I believe those two facts are not completely disconnected – and that there are plans afoot for a bit of Richard III rehabilitation. Can you tell us a little more about it?

RA: I was named Richard being born on the anniversary of Richard III’s demise at Bosworth; one of my father’s favourite novels is The Sunne in Splendour by Sharon Kay Penman, and I read this many years ago. In recent years it has lead to a tentative interest and line of research into the rehabilitation of this story. As an actor, it’s a project I would love to achieve. I believe it is a great story, a socio-political thriller, a love story and a dynastic tragedy. My challenge is to convince commercial producers to see beyond ‘history lesson’, but I strongly suspect that this will be a long way off, probably outside of my ability to play the role, but I wouldn’t rule out playing another role, I may even be producing by the time someone wakes up and realizes the potential for this project.

Noted in March 2010 on RichardArmitageNet. From a Naxos AudioBooks podcast interview regarding Venetia. At 4:30:

I’m also hoping to create a piece of drama based on the life Richard III. There’s an awful lot of biography written about him but very little facts so that’s opening up a whole avenue of research for me as well. It’s a project which has been around for a few years but it’s certainly picking up some interest now. I also have a personal connection to the author and scriptwriter and hopefully we’ll be able to get it off the ground.

Apr 28, 2010 – TV.com Interview

OK, so if you could pick any role — whether that be in TV, film or theatre — what would your next project be?
It would be a series about Richard III; that’s something I really want to do. I’m trying to develop something at the moment it would be a prequel to The Tudors and it would probably be about 20 episodes. That’s what I dream of doing.

Wow! And you’d be working behind the scenes on that?
Yeah, it’s in very, very early days of development. It’s something that I’m pitching and trundling around trying to raise interest in.

2010 Audio interview with David Stephenson – listen to the mp3 on   RichardArmitageNet here.

RA: I’ve got a script in development, which isn’t mine, but it’s about Richard III and it keeps getting moving around from “Can we do this in two-and-a-half hours?” and “Should we make a film?” There’s too much to tell, let’s do twenty episodes then you think ‘Oh yeah, then we can tell all of the story, and we can let the character go from sixteen to. . .”

David: With you playing Richard?

RA: Maybe, I might end up being too old by the time it goes into production. I might have to play Warwick, but I might not be able to do any of it, I might have to just stand back. . it’s too much to fit into a film—you’d have to make three films and I don’t know whether there’s enough interest to do that. But we think it might go into a sort of twenty episode, long-running “Wars of the Roses” kind of thing…and this is the prequel to The Tudors. It’s just trying to get people interested. I know a lot of people that are interested, but there is no one that will step on the gas. Quite. Nearly there, nearly there.

3 thoughts on “History of Richard Armitage’s Richard III Project In The Press

  1. Pingback: Richard III For Richard Armitage! « darlingdarling blog

  2. I’ve tried to insert a link to the project on my page on Facebook – hope it worked!!! I’m beginning to feel just as strongly about getting an accurate picture of Richard III out there as RA is!

    • Fantastic! I agree, it is time for this remarkable king to get his due on film – and I am sure that Richard will treat the subject with respect, intelligence, and heart.

Leave a Reply

