Thoughts On Moving: Songs Are My Pills

It’s hitting me that I’m moving in two months.

I have to sign the English department contract. I have to make appointments with new doctors. I have to figure out what to schlep and how to get it there. Figure out what computer to buy since my Mac G4 tower is threatening to overheat and is no longer compatible with Firefox.

I have to decide which neighborhood I want to live in, what amenities are negotiable (dishwasher and in-unit laundry? one can hope), and which online apartment ads are legitimate.

I have to give notice at work.

I have to enjoy San Francisco in the summer but save money. I have to see relatives and friends, especially ones I haven’t seen in the nine months I’ve been living here, but spend as much time as possible with my nearest and dearest.

I have to eat a lot of dim sum and burritos. I have to eat In-N-Out burgers. look at the Pacific Ocean, drive down the 1 to Big Sur, drive up the 1 to Mendocino, have a fabulous meal in Napa. Finally go to the Britpop club event called Leisure, do some thrifting in the tony Pacific Heights neighborhood. Do more stairway walks. Read, but don’t overdo it.

This weekend: archery + hot dogs = a good time.

Love this song. And now it is June. Swedes are so upbeat.

 

Another favorite tune—it has such an aching, wistful quality that is perfect for times of change.

“Strangers in the Wind” by Cut Copy

These hands
Like strangers in the wind
These eyes
Float in the breeze
These hands
Like strangers in the wind
This voice
Calling to me
These hands
Like strangers in the wind
These eyes
Float in the breeze

Run to the lights of the city
These moments pass and we’ll be there
(And she looks good)
Run to the lights of the city
(And she looks good)
This dance will last us forever
Forever

You could stay for what you came here for
A daze is what you’re falling for
You could stay for what you came here for
A daze is what you’re falling for
You could stay for what you came here for
A daze is what you’re falling for
You could stay for what you came here for
A daze is what you’re falling for

Run to the lights of the city
These moments pass and we’ll be there
(And she looks good)
Run to the lights of the city
(And she looks good)
This dance will last us forever
Forever

This dance will last us forever
This dance will last us forever

2 thoughts on “Thoughts On Moving: Songs Are My Pills

  1. Sympathies on moving, it sucks. Take as little as possible, you’ll always wonder why you brought as much as you did (that’s generally my experience). Re the computer, you may want to wait until you are earning fellowship, then it becomes an educational expense related to fellowship and you can deduct it if you itemize deductions. Thinking of you!

    • Nice – thanks for the expensing tip!

      Yeah, shipping/moving rates are outrageous due to gas prices – I think it’s going to be a clothes, books, and hard drive move.

Leave a Reply

