Want Some Armitage With That Keane? Part 2

Another Spooks video set to Keane, made by a different person.

While the first one I discovered was dedicated to Lucas + Maya, this one is about Lucas + Elizabeta.

“Atlantic” is the opener for Under The Iron Sea, Keane’s second album. I love the changing melody of the song, the way Tom’s voice swells, how the percussion crashes and the strings take over.

From the sound of “Is It Any Wonder,” I feared that this album would suffer from U2 aspirations, but it is a remarkable sophomore effort. I’m a sucker for ocean imagery and keyboards.

I especially love “Nothing In My Way”—English music is so infectious, so anthem-ic!

From Richard’s message to fans on July 25, 2006:

Check out the new Keane album.. I love it. Hamburg song is my favourite…if you listen to it you might understand why.

“Hamburg Song” lyrics

I don’t wanna be adored
Don’t wanna be first in line
Or make myself heard
I’d like to bring a little light
To shine a light on your life
To make you feel loved

No, don’t wanna be the only one you know
I wanna be the place you call home

I lay myself down
To make it so, but you don’t want to know
I give much more
Than I’d ever ask for

Will you see me in the end
Or is it just a waste of time
Trying to be your friend
Just shine, shine, shine
Shine a little light
Shine a light on my life
Warm me up again

Fool, I wonder if you know yourself at all
You know that it could be so simple

I lay myself down
To make it so, but you don’t want to know
You take much more
Than I’d ever ask for

Say a word or two to brighten my day
Do you think that you could see your way

To lay yourself down
And make it so, but you don’t want to know
You take much more
Than I’d ever ask for

***

A devoted Keane fan compiled b-sides, covers, and rarities as a collection titled Little Broken Words and the “album” continues to circulate online. But this seems to be only a dent in the great Keane b-side catalog.

01 – The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine (Anymore) (Frankie Valli cover)
02 – Fly To Me (b-side to “Everybody’s Changing”)
03 – Snowed Under (b-side to “Somewhere Only We Know”)
04 – Allemande (b-side to “This Is the Last Time”)
05 – What A Wonderful World (Louis Armstrong cover)
06 – Dinner At Eight (Rufus Wainwright cover)
07 – Something In Me was Dying (b-side to “Bedshaped”)
08 – The Way You Want It (b-side to “Everybody’s Changing”)
09 – Emily (demo)
10 – To The End Of The Earth (b-side to “Everybody’s Changing”)
11 – She Opens Her Eyes (b-side to “This Is the Last Time”)
12 – Rubbernecking (b-side to “Call Me What You Like”)
13 – More Matey (demo)
14 – She Has No Time (Earlier Version)
15 – Walnut Tree (b-side from “Somewhere Only We Know” single) – keyboard LOVE
16 – Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (Elton John cover)
17 – The Happy Soldier (Retrospective EP)

2 thoughts on “Want Some Armitage With That Keane? Part 2

Leave a Reply

