Anguish Sure Sounds Pretty: The 7 Best Linkin Park Songs and the Best Live Versions

Linkin Park is one of the few contemporary male lead-singer groups that I like. Why is this, you ask? I like pretty voices and Chester Bennington sounds so sweet when he’s not screaming.

I like their new Transformers’ 2 song, “New Divide.” It sounds an expensive Linkin Park song that echoes throughout the stratosphere.

But let’s remember the 90s: LP has gone from nu-metal meets hip-hop beats to Jay-Z mash-up to U2-inspired anthems and ballads – while telling tales of failed relationships, insecurity, obsessiveness, isolation, and regret. One would think that it would be depressing to hear Chester break his heart over and over again, but the songs have such pretty moments and end up being reassuring and cathartic. Millions of fans worldwide know what’s up.


Number 7: Leave Out All the Rest

Off “Minutes to Midnight.” Made mistakes but am repentant.

Highlight:
I’m strong on the surface
Not all the way through
I’ve never been perfect
But neither have you


Number 6: In the End

Anguish apex on “Hybrid Theory.” Tried really hard in a relationship and it all fell apart.

Highlight:
I’ve put my trust in you
Pushed as far as I can go


Number 5: Easier to Run

From “Meteora” – past mistakes continue to be painful.

Highlight:
Sometimes I remember the darkness of my past
Bringing back these memories I wish I didn’t have
Sometimes I think of letting go and never looking back
And never moving forward so there’d never be a past


Number 4: Numb

A killer closer to “Meteora.” Failure to live up to the expectations of a loved one (“I’m tired of being what you want me to be”).

Highlight:
Can’t you see that you’re smothering me
Holding too tightly afraid to lose control
Cause everything that you thought I would be
Has fallen apart right in front of you


Number 3: Breaking the Habit

From “Meteora” – finally a song that is wholly sung – where a) Chester doesn’t scream and b) isn’t interrupted by Mike.

Highlight:
The whole song is a high-speed emotional rollercoaster – love the changes in tone.


Number 2: Valentine’s Day

From “Minutes to Midnight.” Probably the most easy-listening song LP has ever done. Lover went away. Holidays are hard because of the memories – part 1.

Highlight:
I used to be my own protection, but not now
Cause my path had lost direction, somehow


Number 1: My December

Holidays are hard because of the memories – part 2. About being alone during winter hoidays in a very sad way. This song is a b-side to “One Step Closer” and is hands-down LP’s best song. Written by Mike, there are two beautiful live versions from the 2000 and 2007 KROQ Almost Acoustic Christmas concerts.

Highlight: EVERYTHING

STUDIO VERSION

Leave a Reply

