Alan Rickman: the Serious Side and an Update on the “Really Sexy” Side

Rickman as Colonel Brandon in Sense & Sensibility

Rickman as Colonel Brandon in Sense & Sensibility

OK – it’s the last day of Alan Rickman Fest. There aren’t too many full-length interviews available online and most of them cover the same information over and over. Which makes Rickman’s interview with Charlie Rose (watch video) a great pleasure to watch – some candid insights about “Die Hard,” “Sense and Sensibility” and theater work.

I was also hunting for some fangirly questions about his “In Demand” video and found some juicy comments from Texas singer Sharleen Spiteri (full interview here):

You get to tango on petrol station forecourts with Alan Rickman in your videos.
He’s such a good dancer.
How did you hook up with him?
I was chatting away to Michael Kamen, the string arranger who did Net Aid with us, and he said: “My friend loves you. And I said, “Ooh, who’s your friend? ” And he replied, “Alan Rickman. ” And I think he’s wicked, fantastic. I love him. Later, when I was talking to (video director) Vaughan about our new single In Demand, we thought, we need to find someone who you’d believe would just throw me into the tango. And I thought: “Alan Rickman. That’s it.”
He was only too happy to comply?
I called him up and left a message and he phoned me back at about nine in the morning, and Ashley (Heath, style guru and Sharleen’s boyfriend) answered. He comes running into the bedroom going, “Shar! Its Alan Rickman on the phone!” So I pick up the phone, and he goes, “Helloooo. ” He talks sooo like that. And I did that thing where you pretend you’ve been up for hours.
Was it a sexy video to make?
Really sexy. He throws you about and you’re like, “Take me.”
One thought on “Alan Rickman: the Serious Side and an Update on the “Really Sexy” Side

  1. Pingback: Armitage Speculation & Notable Music Video Cameos from WB Actors, Villains, and Hobbits « darlingdarling blog

Leave a Reply

